Modern technology gives us many things.

Windows 8 For Dummies books like having your own personal tutor

0

windummies1If you’re new to Windows 8 it may be difficult to understand but two “For Dummies” books from Wiley are as good as having your own personal tutor.

Windows 8 For Dummies and Windows 8 For Seniors For Dummies are aimed at the different types of users who need a hand getting to know the new Microsoft operating system.

Windows 8 for Dummies, written by Andy Rathbone, is a comprehensive guide to all aspects of the operating system.

Rathbone has actually written all of the previous Windows For Dummies books so you can rest assured he definitely knows all the ins and outs of the operating system.

Windows 8 For Seniors For Dummies is written by Mark Justice Hinton who also wrote Windows 7 For Seniors For Dummies and Digital Photography For Seniors For Dummies.

Windows 8 For Dummies by Andy RathboneSo why do seniors get their own book? It’s for a couple of reasons.

The first is because the book is aimed at absolute beginners – and often these users have spent the better part of their life without technology.

Secondly the book also has a larger font than the regular For Dummies books.

The author wants senior readers to concentrate on the content of the book and learning how to use Windows 8 rather than squinting at tiny type with their glasses.

WINDOWS 8 FOR DUMMIES – $29.95

This is a thorough volume that can be used by people of all skill levels.

Whether you’re new to Windows 8, new to Windows or new to computers altogether, the book is set out in an easy-to-follow way and also written in plain English.

Rathbone doesn’t assume you’re an expert and patiently explains what each term and function means.

And the book, like all For Dummies books, is more like an encyclopaedia where users can look up what they need to know and jump around in any order rather than reading it from start to finish like a novel.

In this book he covers:

* Getting started with Windows 8 – it looks a lot different to Windows 7 and helps users of all skill levels find their bearings and make sense of the system.

* Finding, starting and closing programs

* Locating downloaded files in your system

* Learning the touchscreen functionality of Windows 8

* Using the internet – web browsing, setting up email and accessing social networking sites

* Saving, editing and sharing your digital pictures and videos

* Connecting to peripherals like printers and to other computers on your same network.

WINDOWS 8 FOR SENIORS FOR DUMMIES – $29.95

Age is a just a number so that shouldn’t stand in your way when it to comes to learning new things and this book is the perfect way to get to know Windows 8.

This is step-by-step guide which is suitable to not only people with no Windows experience but also people with no computer experience to begin with.

Windows 8 For Seniors For Dummies by Mark Justice Hinton

Author Hinton starts off explaining what a keyboard and mouse is and how you use them to ensure the user has a decent grounding in computer basics.

And the beauty of this book, and all of the other For Dummies books for that matter, is you can skip ahead if you already know what is being explained in that section.

In this book you will cover:

* Setting up your Windows 8 PC and learning how to navigate the system with a keyboard and mouse as also how to turn the computer on and off.

* Getting to know the Windows 8 Start screen and locating apps and switching between them.

* Connecting the Windows 8 PC to the internet and setting up email

* Putting your photos and videos onto your computer

* Listening to music and watching videos

* Organising your documents

* Backing up yours files and keeping your computer secure.

Windows 8 For Dummies and Windows 8 For Seniors For Dummies are both available now.

Related Stories

Shazam launches its music tagging app for Windows Phone 8

Telstra and Toshiba launch world’s first 4G Windows 8 ultrabook tablet

ASUS VivoTab 810 is a Windows 8 tablet and a laptop