Modern technology gives us many things.

NBN announces suburbs that will receive fibre upgrade – is yours on the list?


NBN Co has released the list of suburbs and towns where more than 900,000 homes currently served with FTTN (fibre to the node) will be eligible for a fibre upgrade.

The full list of suburbs and towns that will receive the fibre extension are listed below.

NBN’s plan is to extend fibre deeper into the communities which have only had access to the slower FTTN connection.

Today’s announcement reveals the first suburbs and towns in Tasmania, the ACT and Northern Territory which will be transformed from FTTN to FTTP (fibre to the premises) if customers order faster plans.

Also revealed today are the additional areas in NSW, Queensland, Victoria, South Australia and Western Australia which will also receive the fibre extensions and access to higher speed broadband services.

The FTTN to FTTP upgrade, which is part of the NBN’s $3.5bn network investment program, will potentially connect up to two million premises to higher speed tiers close to 1Gbps.

Demand for higher speed tiers is growing among home customers and businesses with the expansion set to extend accessibility to higher speeds to 75 per cent of homes by 2023.

The NBN is currently in talks with internet retail providers to work out the process how a customer can find out if their home is eligible for the upgrade.

NBN Co is also planning a similar expansion for full fibre upgrades for access to faster speeds to eligible customers who are being served by FTTC (Fibre to the Curb).

Due to the faster speed capabilities of FTTC, the NBN has proposed customers living or working in these areas will have to order a 250Mbps/25Mbps plan or higher in order to qualify for the full fibre upgrade.

The NBN website will soon also be updated to improve the “Check Your Address” tool by November 2021 to check their eligibility to move from FTTN to FTTP

“We’re very pleased to announce the latest list of suburbs and towns across Australia – from Byron Bay on the eastern tip of New South Wales to Yokine in Western Australia – that will ultimately see around 2 million FTTN premises become eligible to join our ever-expanding Fibre to the Premises footprint, on demand,” says Stephen Rue, Chief Executive Officer at NBN Co.

“We very deliberately rolled out the National Broadband Network at pace across Australia using a range of technologies to ensure we could provide access to high speed broadband services across Australia as quickly as possible.

“We are now well underway with the next long-planned phase of the network’s evolution and development to provide more customers with access to NBN’s highest wholesale speed tiers currently available.

“Today, approximately 3.5 million premises across Australia can access the NBN Home Ultrafast wholesale speed tier with wholesale download speeds of 500 Mbps to close to 1 Gbps, on demand.

“We are on track to achieve our goal of enabling around 8 million premises or up to 75 per cent of homes and businesses on the fixed line network to access NBN’s highest wholesale speed tiers, if they so choose, by 2023.”

The fibre extensions announced today includes eligible premises in parts of the following towns and suburbs:

State/territory Suburb or town
New South Wales Alexandria, Albion Park, Austinmer, Balgownie, Bankstown, Barrack Heights, Barrack Point, Batemans Bay, Belmont, Bogangar, Byron Bay, Cabarita Beach, Camperdown, Charlestown, Claymore, Cordeaux Heights, Corlette, Davistown, Dubbo, East Albury, Erina, Erskineville, Ettalong Beach, Fairy Meadow, Fingal Bay, Forster, Gerringong, Glenfield Park, Glenmore Park, Gorokan, Horningsea, Hoxton Park, Hunters Hill, Huntleys Cove, Jerrabomberra, Kariong, Kellyville, Kincumber, Islington, Lake Illawarra, Maryville, Merewether Heights, Milton, Mount Annan, Mount Pleasant, Narellan, Nelson Bay, North Richmond, North Wollongong, Oak Flats, Old Bar, Prestons, Raymond Terrace, Salamander Bay, Seven Hills, Shoal Bay, Soldiers Point, St Georges Basin, Terrigal, Thirroul, Tuncurry, Tweed Heads, Ulladulla, Umina Beach, Warilla, Warners Bay, West Hoxton, Woodbine, Woolwich, Woonona, Worrigee, Woy Woy, Yattalunga.
ACT Banks, Campbell, Conder, Dickson, Gordon, Hume, Lyneham, O’Connor, Reid, Turner
Victoria Aireys Inlet, Albert Park, Alfredton, Barwon Heads, Belmont, Berwick, Caroline Springs, Cowes, Craigieburn, Deer Park (additional footprint), Delacombe, Derrimut, Echuca, Fairhaven, Geelong, Geelong West, Grovedale, Hampton Park, Hastings, Highton, Kalimna, Kangaroo Flat, Lakes Entrance, Leopold, Mernda, Mornington, Ocean Grove, Pakenham, Pearcedale, Rosebud, Sebastopol, Seymour, Somerville, Sunshine West, Tarneit, Torquay, Traralgon, Warrnambool, Waurn Ponds, West Wodonga, Wodonga.
Queensland Alexandra Headland, Andergrove, Bargara, Bayview Heights, Beaconsfield, Bellara, Bentley Park, Blacks Beach, Brinsmead, Buderim, Bulimba, Burpengary, Burpengary East, Caboolture, Caboolture South, Cannonvale, Castaways Beach, Clifton Beach, Coolangatta, Coolum Beach, Cooroibah, Craiglie, Currimundi, Dolphin Heads, Earville, Edmonton, Eimeo, Forest Lake, Freshwater, Glenella, Griffin, Heathwood, Kawungan, Kewarra Beach, Lawnton, Meridan Plains, Monoora, Mooloolaba, Manunda, Marcoola, Marcus Beach, Maroochydore, Minyama, Mooroobool, Morayfield, Mount Coolum, Mount Pleasant, Mount Sheridan, Mountain Creek, Murrumba Downs, Newtown (4350), Noosa Heads, Noosaville, Ormeau, Pacific Paradise, Pacific Pines, Parrearra, Peregian Beach, Port Douglas, Proserpine, Redlynch, Rothwell, Seventeen Mile Rocks, Stratford, Sunrise Beach, Sunshine Beach, Tewantin, Trinity Beach, Twin Waters, Upper Coomera, Urraween, Victoria Point, Warana, White Rock, Woree.
South Australia Andrews Farm, Ascot Park, Edwardstown, Exeter, Glanville, Grange, Largs Bay, Munno Park West, New Port, Port Adelaide, Seaton, Semaphore, Tennyson, West Lakes, Woodville West.
Western Australia Ascot, Balcatta, Balga, Bayswater, Beaconsfield, Beckenham, Belmont, Bentley, Bicton, Cannington, City Beach, Cloverdale, Coogee, East Cannington, East Fremantle, Fremantle, Gosnells, Hamilton Hill, Highgate, Hilton, Huntingdale, Karawara, Karrinyup, Kewdale, Maylands, Midland, Morley, Mount Lawley, Nollamara, North Fremantle, North Perth, Osborne Park, Palmyra, Redcliffe, Riverton, Rivervale, Rossmoyne, Samson, Scarborough, Shelley, South Fremantle, Southern River, Spearwood, St James, Stirling, Tuart Hill, Waikiki, Waterford, Wembley Downs, Westminster, Yokine.
Tasmania Camdale, Cooee, Devonport, Howrah, Legana, Ocean Vista, Park Grove, Paklands, Sandy Bay, Shorewell Park, Tranmere.
Northern Territory Alice Springs, Araluen, Braitling, Ciccone, Desert Springs, East Side, Gillen, Ilpara, Larapinta, Ross, Sadadeen, The Gap.

NBN Co’s previous FTTN to FTTP upgrade announcement in February 2021 included eligible premises in parts of the following towns and suburbs:

State/territory Suburb or town
New South Wales Bathurst, Campbelltown, Elderslie, Maitland, Narellan, New Lambton, Orange, Singleton, Tarro.
Victoria Berwick South, Cranbourne, Deer Park, additional areas of Narre Warren, Sydenham.
Queensland Albany Creek, Ashgrove, Bald Hills, Burleigh Heads, Ferny Hills, Robina, Townsville.
South Australia Elizabeth, Gepps Cross, Golden Grove, Salisbury.
Western Australia Canning Vale, Girrawheen, Jandakot South, Kingsley, Wanneroo.

NBN Co’s first FTTN to FTTP upgrade announcement in October 2020 included eligible premises in parts of the following towns and suburbs:

State/territory Suburb or town
New South Wales Belmont North, Carramar, Castle Hill, Charlestown, Holsworthy, Liverpool, Toronto, Wetherill Park.
Victoria Lyndhurst, Narre Warren.
Queensland Acacia Ridge, Browns Plains, Eight Mile Plains, Oxenford.
South Australia Osborne.
Western Australia Cannington, Double View.