Modern technology gives us many things.

Optus reveals locations for its first 50 5G sites


The Optus 5G rollout  has just begun with the telco revealing the first 50 sites that will be built by Ericsson in the coming weeks and months as part of its multi-vendor 5G strategy.

Optus has identified 50 areas across Sydney and Melbourne which will be connected to 5G ahead of the other 1200 5G sites across the country which will be completed by March 2020.

“This is another significant milestone for Optus as we continue with our customer focused 5G roll-out plan,” says Kent Wu,  Optus head of network access planning and quality.

“We are continuing to deliver a more dynamic and innovative 5G network for the benefit of our customers.

“We are working closely with Ericsson to conduct critical inter-operability device testing so that we can deliver a compatible 5G home broadband product to customers and open these sites up as part of our expressions of interest campaign.

“We are further demonstrating that our multi-vendor approach to Optus 5G will help to deliver a more dynamic and innovative 5G network for the benefit of our customers.”

Optus has chosen 20 suburbs in NSW to begin with and these are: Alexandria, Castle Hill, Carlton, Dudley, Enfield East, Greystanes,   Kellyville,  Macquarie Park, Marrickville,  Mosman, North Baulkham Hills, North Ryde business Park,  North Ryde,  North Ryde West, North Sydney Central,  Oatlands, Panania,  Riverside Corporate Park and Rydalmere.

In Victoria these are the first 30 suburbs which will receive Optus 5G:  Abbotsford, Arthurs Seat, Braybrook, Brunswick, Campbellfield South, Coburg, Croydon South, Dandenong South, Fishermans Bend, Geelong West, Greenvale Reservoir, Hoppers Crossing, Kensington, Laverton West, Maidstone, Mornington, Mount Martha, Mount Evelyn, Norlane, Noble Park South, Norlane, Preston East, Research, Reservoir North, Rosebud East, Rye Central, Springvale South, Wantirna South and Williams Landing.

Optus has also opened expressions of interest for customers to be able to register and be among the first to experience the speed of 5G in selected suburbs across Australia.

The Optus 5G home broadband modem router

To register visit and enter their suburb to check eligibility for Optus 5G home broadband.

Optus is still on track to deliver its 1200 5G sites across the ACT, Victoria, NSW, Queensland, South Australia and Western Australia by March 2020.

The company’s multi-vendor approach will see sites built by Nokia and Ericsson.

NSW: 20 Suburbs
Greystanes Peakhurst Mosman Oatlands Kellyville
Macquarie Park Alexandria North Baulkham Hills North Ryde Business Park North Sydney Central
North Ryde North Ryde West Enfield East Riverside Corporate Park Rydalmere
Marrickville Dudley Castle Hill Carlton Panania


VIC: 30 Suburbs
Braybrook Preston East Mornington Norlane Hoppers Crossing
Dandenong South Laverton West Geelong West Campbellfield South Williams Landing
Greenvale Reservoir Mt Martha Research Brunswick Croydon South
Kensington Noble Park South Coburg Mt Evelyn Maidstone
Springvale South Rosebud Arthurs Seat Abbotsford Noble Park
Rye Central Wantirna South Rosebud East Fishermans Bend Reservoir North