What you can do with your Facebook account after you die
We create wills and take out life insurance so we can look after our loved ones after we’ve gone. But did you know you can do the same thing with your Facebook account?
Most people would be unaware of Facebook’s Memorialisation settings which allows users to choose someone to look after your account when you pass away.
You can choose a legacy contact who will be able to manage your account and your posts after you die.
When a legacy contact is chosen they will receive a notification at that point and will be notified again after your account is memorialised.
The legacy contact will be able to look after your account, post to your profile and also change the profile picture and cover photo.
If the memorialised account has an area for tributes, the legacy contact will also be able to control who can sees them and who can post.
Memorialised accounts will also include added features including adding the word “Remembering” next to the person’s name on their profile.
Content created and shared on Facebook will remain and will be visible to the original audience it was shared with.
Memorialised accounts won’t appear in birthday reminders and will not be included in “People You May Know” lists.
The legacy contact can also accept new friends on your behalf so they can enjoy the content which was posted to your Facebook page over the years.
Alternatively, users can choose to delete their account permanently after they pass away.
If you choose this option, all your messages, photos and posts, comments and reactions will be removed immediately when someone lets Facebook know you’ve died.
To access the Facebook Memorialisation settings go to the downward facing arrow on the right side of the menu bar – scroll down to Settings where you will see General Account Settings and second from the bottom is Memorialisation settings.